What follows are the four priority areas the Affordable Care Act will address and how:

1. Health Care Services

  • Pilot projects to modify the health care delivery system
  • Fund additional research to establish evidence-based practices for health care program and service implementation
  • Pay physicians based on the quality of care provided rather than the volume of patients seen
  • Health profession workforce development: use of incentives and recruiting to encourage people to enter into health care professions and practice in underserved areas
  • Incentives to medical organizations to implement electronic medical record systems
  • Free preventive care

2. Physical Activity and Nutritious Food

  • Fund community-based tobacco, physical activity and nutrition programs
  • Encourage chronic disease management
  • Fund worksite wellness initiatives
  • National menu labeling:  requiring chain restaurants to post calorie content and provide additional nutrition information on request

3. Mental Well Being

  • Expand mental health workforce
  • Increase inclusion of mental health services in insurance programs
  • Incentives to encourage behavioral health and primary care integration
  • Enhanced Medicaid and Medicare services

4. Cost

  • Change terms of insurance plans to increase coverage
  • Individual mandate that all citizens have health insurance or will eventually be penalized
  • Employer health insurance mandates and tax credits
  • Medicaid Expansion
  • Increase health insurance options for children
  • Health insurance exchanges
  • Establish discounts on drugs paid for through Medicare
  • End lifetime and most annual limits on insurance benefits
  • Allow young adults under 26 to stay on their parent’s health insurance